Angelina County Disaster Area Declaration




On April 30, 2024, the governor issued a disaster declaration due to severe storms and flooding. He subsequently amended that declaration on May 2, May 7, May 15, May 20, and May 26.

The amended proclamation includes Anderson, Angelina, Austin, Bandera, Bastrop, Baylor, Bell, Bexar, Blanco, Bosque, Brazos, Brown, Burleson, Burnet, Caldwell, Calhoun, Chambers, Cherokee, Clay, Coleman, Collin, Colorado, Comal, Concho, Cooke, Coryell, Delta, Denton, DeWitt, Dickens, Eastland, Ellis, Falls, Fayette, Freestone, Galveston, Gillespie, Gonzales, Gregg, Grimes, Guadalupe, Hamilton, Hardin, Harris, Haskell, Hays, Henderson, Hill, Hood, Houston, Hunt, Jasper, Jefferson, Johnson, Jones, Karnes, Kaufman, Kendall, Kerr, Kimble, Knox, Lamar, Lampasas, Lavaca, Lee, Leon, Liberty, Limestone, Llano, Madison, Mason, McCulloch, McLennan, Medina, Menard, Milam, Mills, Montague, Montgomery, Nacogdoches, Navarro, Newton, Orange, Panola, Polk, Robertson, Rusk, Sabine, San Augustine, San Jacinto, San Saba, Shelby, Smith, Somervell, Sutton, Tarrant, Travis, Trinity, Tyler, Van Zandt, Walker, Waller, Washington, Wichita, Williamson and Wilson counties.

Tax Code Section 11.35, Temporary Exemption for Qualified Property Damaged by Disaster, allows qualified properties that are at least 15 percent damaged by a disaster in counties included in the declaration to receive a temporary exemption of a portion of the property’s appraised value. Qualified property includes:

tangible personal property used for income production;
improvements to real property; and
certain manufactured homes.

Property owners must apply for the temporary exemption no later than 105 days after the governor declares a disaster area. Form 50-312, Temporary Exemption Property Damaged by Disaster (PDF), is available on the State Comptroller’s Property Tax Forms webpage.

You can find more information on statutory relief for property owners in disaster areas on the State Comptroller’s Property Taxes in Disaster Areas and During Droughts webpage.

For additional information, contact our office at (936) 634-8456 or in-person at 105 Miles Way, Ste #300, Lufkin, TX 75901

Posted 05/29 01:53 PM